Information For...


UVI President Dr. LaVerne E. Ragster to Receive SCLC National Award on April 4

University of the Virgin Islands President Dr. LaVerne E. Ragster will receive a "2009 Drum Major for Justice Leadership in Higher Education Award" from the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) Women's Organizational Movement for Equality Now, (WOMEN) Inc.

"I see any national recognition as another means of the University of the Virgin Islands coming into its own as a part of mainstream higher education," said Dr. Ragster, who will receive the award on Saturday, April 4, at the CNN Center in Atlanta, Ga. "It is another example of UVI's becoming recognized for its outputs."

  "Drum Major for Justice" awardees are recognized by their contributions to the cause of freedom, equality and achievement in their professional fields. This year's 30th anniversary event will honor distinguished women college presidents for their leadership in higher education.

SCLC WOMEN Inc. founder Evelyn G. Lowery created the dinner event in 1980 and it is held annually near the April 4 anniversary of the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., the founding president of SCLC, who wanted to be remembered as a "Drum Major for Justice."

Along with Dr. Ragster, other 2009 recipients include actress and humanitarian Cicely Tyson and President of Dillard University Dr. Marvalene Hughes. Past recipients include Coretta Scott King, Oprah Winfrey and Hank Aaron.