AAS Campus

Student Government

Student involvement and participation in the governance of the University of the Virgin Islands are provided through representation on the UVI Board of Trustees, membership on the UVI Senate, election/appointment to the Student Government Association (SGA) and membership on UVI standing committees. Student assignment to UVI standing committees and SGA standing committees are done through the SGA.

Image may contain: 14 people, people smiling, people standing, shoes and outdoor

The SGA is continually growing as a viable part of University life. SGA is concerned with improving the quality of student life through its many communication channels. SGA is recognized as the official representative of the student body and assists students by: 

  • Providing opportunities for each student to participate in activities which develop and realize individual potentialities and leadership skills. 
  • Aiding in a meaningful interpretation of the concept of the “University Community”.

All students who have paid the $20.00 Student Government Association fee are automatically members of the SGA. The Student Government Association’s governing body consists of the Executive Branch and the Legislative Branch. The Executive Branch is composed of the Executive Body and the Executive Cabinet. The Student Council comprises the Legislative Branch.

Executive Body

The Legislative Branch or Student Council


Student Trustee: By act #5360 Bill #17-0194, the Legislature of the Virgin Islands provided for "student and faculty participation on the Board of Trustees of the University of the Virgin Islands" effective September 1, 1988. Students from both campuses participate in the election process which is conducted annually. With respect to accommodating both campuses, this position alternates between campuses every academic school year.

The student trustee must be:

  • A resident of the Virgin Islands
  • Enrolled full-time
  • In good academic standing
  • A junior or senior
  • Elected alternately from each campus

2019-2020 Student Representative to the Board of Trustees Elect: Raven Phillips